Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 17th, 2016

Winding Down

Join the Two Writing Teachers blog for March Slice of Life Challenge.

Join the Two Writing Teachers blog for March Slice of Life Challenge.

When I read the words winding down, I think of the energizer bunny. We just keep going and going all year long and now the battery is running low.

I had to power down my phone to use less battery power. I think I’ve done that to myself. I’m running on low battery power.

Good thing there are only a few days of school left. We are in the midst of final reports, awards, field day, and packing up the classroom for summer cleaning.

There’s the part of me that will miss the routine. Routines become comfort zones. I know what’s expected of me. Duty day, class schedule, lunch break, carpool line, all dependable time zones.

There’s this other part of me that craves the no-schedule of what my husband calls “the big weekend.”

I usually create a schedule: exercise, reading, writing, cleaning, etc. I always think I’ll have time to do the such-and-such that I didn’t do during the school year. I will read professional books. I will make an art journal. I’ll write a book of poetry.

This week I’ll say goodbye. I’ll pack my bag for the last time. Then I’ll plug in to the charger and re-juice my battery with summer.

Read Full Post »